Skip to content
October 11, 2010 / iselgarcia

To Germany, With Love

It was around ten o’clock in the evening when my cellphone rang. A female voice broke through the choppy connection.

“Hey, it’s M.” It was my cousin. Who, as far as I knew, was in Frankfurt. “I was wondering if I could interest you in a project that will help cure your blues.”

The Project: Compile pictures of the Philippines, showcasing the sights, culture and people.

What for: An exhibit for the Philippine Embassy in Frankfurt, Germany

Contender: Me

Knowing that I’ve been plagued with a bad case of ennui and the occasional I-can’t-get-out-of-bed-I-need-a-new-city-I’m-dying-of-quarter-life-crisis moment, my cousin M thought the project would help lift my spirits and give me a better appreciation of here and now.

So, here are some of the pictures I put together to illustrate “My Philippine Islands” – the land which I have a rather dysfunctional, love-hate relationship with. Pilipinas, though I criticize you a lot, I will die defending you to those who think you’re no good. And though I always think of leaving you, no matter what “fairer lands lie beneath alien stars”, as Anne of Green Gables would say, you will always be Home to me.  

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. pant0mime / Oct 11 2010 10:03 am

    hello there paseo shots! :))

  2. prettyisprettydoes / Oct 11 2010 10:24 am

    Did you guys move to a new place yet? 🙂

    • scribbler / Oct 12 2010 1:47 am

      hey pretty! nope not yet… started condo-hunting already though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

