Skip to content
October 21, 2010 / iselgarcia

Swimming With the Fishes

Italian Mobsters and Space Criminals. Who would think I’d find my head filled with images of these as I sit here trying to put into words my first scuba diving experience last weekend? Call me looney, but the instant I took my first breath underwater, the first thought that flashed into my mind was “Cool, I sound just like Darth Vader!”. In fact, I felt  very sorry not to be able to share this enlightened thought with the other divers, along with “Hey, ‘I’m swimming with the fishes’! Get it? ‘You’ll be swimming with the – ” Alright, enough with the weird jokes.

Anyway, last Saturday saw me up and about (in a rather zombie way, i admit) at the crack of dawn. Because of my James Dean philosophy to “Dream as if you’ll live forever; live as if it’s your last day here”,( a.k.a. Scribbler’s Boredom and Restlessness Syndrome), I got it into my head one mundane afternoon at the office to go scuba diving with the Travel and Adventure Club at work.  To cut the long story short and to stop my rambling, here are some shots of some underwater action in the Aqua Venture Reef in Anilao, Batangas.

One of my companions actually voiced out his concern about not seeing any interesting varieties of sea creatures in Anilao. But you needn’t worry about this. It may not equal the dive spots in Dumaguete or Palawan, but it comes very, very close. And to think that Anilao is just a couple of hours drive from Manila! It’s definitely worth seeing.

And don’t forget to wait for sundown – Anilao offers a beautiful sunset.

 

Leave a Reply

